Home / Membership / Awards

IAI Awards

The IAI grants annual awards that recognize significant contributions to the profession.


John A. Dondero Memorial Award

The John A. Dondero Memorial Award was established in 1958 in his memory by his family and was adopted by the Association by the resolution below. John A. Dondero, prior to his untimely death in 1957, was an active, devoted and much loved member of the International Association for Identification. His many varied and progressive achievements in, and contributions to the fields of identification, investigation, and scientific crime detection brought him international recognition and esteem.

The John A. Dondero Award is to be awarded at the discretion of the Board of Directors to an active member of this association, who has made the most significant and valuable contribution in the area of identification and allied sciences. This award shall be granted to only one individual per year when and if it is awarded. However, if the basis for this award involves co-authors and/or co-researchers, this group of persons shall be considered as one individual for the purposes of this award and all of their names shall appear on the engraved plaque, with each of these persons receiving an engraved plaque. The names of all recipients of this award shall be listed below.

Past recipients of the award are:

1959 Hoover, J. Edgar
         Washington, DC
1960 Cashin, William E.
         Albany, NY
1969 Mooney, Donald G.
         Washington, DC
1970 Musial, Joseph
         Miami, FL
1972 Brunelle, Richard L.
         Washington, DC
1973 Nash, Ernest W.
         East Lansing, MI
1975 McCann, Paul
         Albany, NY

1976 Given, Bruce
         Falls Church, VA
1978 Johnson, Robert L.
         Annandale, VA
1980 Dalrymple, Brian E.
         Tononto, Ontario
1982 Hazen, Robert J.
         Quantico, VA
1985 Kendall, Frank G.
         Atlanta, GA
1988 Domingo, Frank
         New York, NY
1989 Lee, Dr. Henry C.
         Meriden, CT

1997 Sampson, William C.
         Miami, FL
2001 Smith, Ron
         Meridian, MS
2002 Taylor, Karen T.
         Austin, TX
2004 Masters, Nancy E.
         St. Helen's, OR
2006 Bodziak, William J.
         Palm Coast, FL
2007 Meagher, Stephen B.
         Quantico, VA
2008 Ashbaugh, David
         British Columbia, Canada

2013 McRoberts, Alan
         Temecula, CA
2014 Margot, Pierre
         Lausanne, Switzerland
2016 German, Edward
         Newington, VA
2017 Yamashita, Brian
         Ottawa, ON Canada

For further information, contact:

Glen Calhoun
International Association for Identification
2131 Hollywood Blvd. Suite 403
Hollywood, FL 33020
Voice: (954) 589-0628
Fax: (954) 589-0657

Good of the Association Award

The Good of the Association Award was established by the IAI for the purpose of recognizing any individual who, in the opinion and judgment of the IAI's Board of Directors, is deemed to have made an "outstanding contribution to the Association." Nomination eligibility is not limited to members of the Association, however, but to any person who has contributed significantly to furthering the goals, objectives and interests of the IAI.

Anyone who wishes to submit a nomination for the Good of the Association Award for consideration by the Board of Directors should contact the Chief Operations Officer.

Good of the Association Award Recipients

1987 Nielson, John P.
1988 Bonebrake, George
1989 Fiorenza, Tom
1990 Saviers, Kathleen D.
1991 Crooker, Rosella O.
1993 Carrick, Michael F.
         Grieve, Rhoda M.
         Murray, James T.
1994 Gettemy, James B.
         Neuner, John K.
1995 Grieve, David L.
         Hahn, Timothy F.
         Stryker, Henry
1996 Martin, Charles E.
         Sanders, Robert C., III

1997 Carrick, Michael F.
         Fiorenza, Tom
         Murray, Candy
         Shane, Curtis M.
         Shane, Mathea
1998 Douthit, John D.
         Hamm, Ernest D.
1999 FBI, Laboratory Division
         Illsley, Charles P.
         Ostermeyer, Donald C.
2000 Chapman, Carey
2001 Ashbaugh, David
         German, Edward R.
         Meagher, Steven B.
         Punter, Ann D.

2002 Murray, Candy
         Polski, Joseph P.
         Smith, Norman R.

2004 Nash, Steven
2005 Parkinson, Gregory A.
2006 Garrett, Robert J.
2008 Leben, Debbie
2009 Brown, King C.
         Watkins, Dawn
2010 Honeycutt, Dennis
2011 Martin, Kenneth
2012 Inlow, Vici
2014 Hicklin, Austin
2017 Steve Johnson
         David Witzke


AnchorDistinguished Members

Distinguished membership may be conferred only on a Member by a majority vote of the I.A.I. Board of Directors in recognition of the Member's superior efforts in the furtherance of the aims and purposes of the I.A.I. A Distinguished Member retains all the rights, privileges, and obligations of the class of membership he or she held prior to being designated as a Distinguished Member.
David R. Ashbaugh, 1991
Stanton O. Berg, 1988
Alexandre Beaudoin, 2011
V. Thomas Bevel, 2008
John Black, 2007
William J. Bodziak, 2008
George J. Bonebrake, 1987*
King Brown, 2015
Jon Byrd, 2007
Dr. Antonio Cantu, 2009
Michael F. Carrick, 1993
Carey L. Chapman, 1994*
Lauren Cooney, 2011
Dr. Jean Curtit, 2014 
Eugene R. Czarnecki, 2004
Brian Dalrymble, 2011
Christopher Duncan, 2012
Richard E. M. Fahy, 1999
Robert Garrett, 2018
Edward R. German, 2007
David L. Grieve, 1989
Tom Griffin, 2016 
Timothy F. Hahn, 1996
Richard F. Hall, 1995
James L. Hamilton, 1987*
Lesley C. Hammer, 2009

Ernest D. Hamm, 1989
Karen R. Hare, 2004
Dwane S. Hilderbrand, 1996
G. Matt Johnson, 2014 
Steve Johnson, 2018
William O. Jungbluth, 1989
Darrell Klasey, 2008
Wade W. Knaap, 2010
Bruce E. Koenig, 1994
Glenn Langenburg, 2007
Gregory Laskowski, 2014
Holly Latham, 2016 
Martin J. Leadbetter, 1987
Deborah Leben, 2009
Dr. Henry Lee, 1987
Jan LeMay, 2017 
Alice Maceo, 2004
Kenneth F. Martin, 2010
Nancy E. Masters, 1995
Douglas M. Monsoor, 1987
Craig C. Moore, 2006
Raymond T. Moore, 1989*
Marvin L. Morgan, 1989
Cedric Neumann, 2016 
John P. Nielson, 1988
Robert D. Olson, Sr, 1989*

John Olenik, 1998
John Onstwedder, 2008
Gregory A. Parkinson, 2004
Michael Perkins, 2009
Clarence E. Phillips, 1987
Joseph P. Polski, 2009
Robert S. Ramotowski, 2008
Harold Ruslander, 2015
Paul T. Sahs, 1992
William C. Sampson, 1995*
Philip Sanfilippo, 2014 
Kathleen D. Saviers, 1989
Rodney Schenck, 2015
Curtis Shane, 2017 
M. Frank Shonberger, 1997
Sandra Siegel, 2015
Norman R. Smith, 1988
Eliot Springer, 2010
Jon T. Stimac, 2006
Michelle Triplett, 2011
John R. Vanderkolk, 2005
Wesley Vernon, 1998
Dawn Watkins, 2015
William J. Watling, 1990
Kasey Wertheim, 2001
Pat A. Wertheim, 1990

Dedication to Service Award

The Dedication to Service Award is awarded to individuals who have shown outstanding dedication over time to the Association and its objectives.

2005 Glen McLaughlin
2006 Jim Arend
2008 Roy Reed
2011 Charles Parker
          David Weaver
2012 Bridget Lewis
          Darrell Klasey
2015 Wesley Vernon
2016 Glen Calhoun